Cambridge PhD Training Programme in Chemical Biology and Molecular Medicine


The aim of this 4-year PhD programme is to train the next generation of synthesis chemists to PhD level who will be experienced in working at the interface between synthetic chemistry and biology at various stages of pre-clinical drug discovery. Our interdisciplinary programme brings together world-class research groups with facilities in synthesis chemistry, pharmacology, biochemistry and biology.

During the first year students embark on their practical chemistry training and are brought up to speed in disease-focussed research by a combination laboratory rotations in chemistry and biology (academic and industrial), workshops and hot topics. The transition to second year is marked by students developing their own PhD proposals in conjunction with chemistry and biology supervisors involved with the programme. Projects are often inspired and driven by individual interests and student interactions during the first year.

The programme has been funded by Cancer Research UK. Funding for studentships from October 2011 has been from the Cambridge Cancer Centre, The Department of Chemistry and the School of Physical Sciences (University of Cambridge). We also interact with local pharmaceutical and biotech companies (Cancer Research Technology, BioFocus, Domainex, Neusentis and Astex Therapeutics) for a broad range of activities such as workshops and lab rotations in Year 1.

The 2014 8th Annual Student Symposium of Student Research will be held at the CRUK Cambridge Institute on Monday 13 October. We have a full programme of talks and our guest speaker this year will be Prof Steve Jackson. We are actively seeking poster presenters for the event. PLEASE REGISTER FOR THIS FREE SYMPOSIUM HERE.

Interested PhD applicants for this programme should note that we will not be recruiting for an October 2014 intake. But we encourage you to apply to the Department of Chemistry directly.

Programme management: Prof Shankar Balasubramanian (Director, Department of Chemistry) and Dr Rebecca Myers (Associate Director, Department of Chemistry).